Search Help Topics:

This year, the IRS and state tax agencies are doing even more to protect you from fraud. Many agencies are changing their approval process in order to prevent those trying to steal your refund from succeeding. As a result, some refunds will be issued later than in past years.

Refunds are not controlled by TaxAct, so you can still complete and file your return as usual. This will help you be at the head of the line once the issuing agency is ready to send refunds.

These delays won't affect all taxpayers, so to help you determine when to expect your refund we've put together the following list:

Federal Refunds (IRS):

Affected taxpayers: Those who claim the Earned Income Credit (EITC) or Additional Child Tax Credit (ACTC)

Refunds issued: Within 21 days of February 27, 2018

State Refunds:

Alabama - No announced changes.

Alaska- No announced changes.

Arizona - No changes.

Arkansas- Identity Theft has been a growing problem nationally and the Department is taking additional measures to ensure tax refunds are issued to the correct individuals. These additional measures may result in tax refunds not being issued as quickly as in past years. Taxpayers may check their refund status online by using the Where’s My Refund? link located on the Arkansas Taxpayer Access Point (ATAP) webpage. Please note that registration is not required to make payments or to check refund status.

California - No changes.

Colorado - No changes.

Connecticut - No announced changes.

Delaware - No announced changes.

District of Columbia - No changes.

Georgia - Will begin issuing refunds on February 1, 2017.

Hawaii - No announced changes.

Idaho - Refunds issued within 7-8 weeks for e-filed returns, 10-11 weeks for paper-filed returns.

Illinois - No announced changes.

Indiana - Will issue refund once return has been processed and cleared through their Identity Protection Program. E-filers should receive refund within 14 days, paper-filers within 12 weeks.

Iowa - With the increase of identity theft and tax refund fraud, you may experience longer wait times than in past years before receiving your refund. The Iowa Department of Revenue does not provide estimated time frames for refund processing because every return is different. Please check your Iowa refund status online at “Where’s My Refund?”. Iowa Department of Revenue phone representatives see the same information that you see online.

Kansas - No changes.

Kentucky - Refunds will begin releasing refunds on February 15, 2017.

Louisiana - No longer allows direct deposit for first-time filers.

Maine - No changes.

Maryland - No announced changes.

Massachusetts - The Department of Revenue takes identity fraud very seriously. If any of your information (address, bank account, etc.) changed since last year, there may be additional security steps to verify your identity to protect you and the Commonwealth. This may result in extended refund turnaround times.

Refund turnaround times may be shorter for those e-filed returns that do not require additional verification.

Michigan - No changes.

Minnesota - Refund issued once return is reviewed for accuracy. Property tax refunds issued July 1, Aug. 1, Aug. 15, and Sept. 15.

Mississippi - No announced changes.

Missouri - No changes.

Montana - No changes.

Nebraska - Will issue refund once return has been through fraud detection and verification processes. E-filers should allow a miniumum of 30 days to receive a refund. Paper-filers should allow a minimum of three months to receive a refund.

New Hampshire - No announced changes.

New Jersey - Will begin issuing refunds the third week of February, 2017.

New Mexico - E-filed return processed and refund issued within two to four weeks. Paper-filed return processed and refund issued within eight to twelve weeks.

New Jersey - No changes.

New York - No changes.

North Carolina - No announced changes.

North Dakota - No specific timeline for issuing refunds. To check the status of your refund, visit

Ohio - No changes.

Oklahoma - Once return is processed, refund is issued within five business days.

Oregon - Will begin issuing refunds on February 15, 2017.

Pennsylvania - No changes.

Rhode Island - No announced changes.

South Carolina - Returns which are filed early are usually processed more quickly than returns filed closer to April 17. Ordinarily, within three weeks after we receive your complete return we will mail your refund. Therefore, please allow at least five weeks for your refund to arrive before you contact us.

Tennessee - No announced changes.

Utah - Please remember that the Tax Commission cannot issue refunds before March 1st if it cannot verify your W-2s with your employers. Due to our efforts to protect your identity, please allow 120 days from the date you filed your return or March 1, whichever is later, to process your return and refund request. All refund checks and direct deposits are issued by the State Division of Finance after being approved by the Tax Commission.

Taxpayers may check their refund status online by using the Where’s My Refund link located on the Utah Taxpayer Access Point (Utah TAP) webpage.

They will need the following:

  • Taxpayer ID number
  • amount of the refund
  • federal adjusted gross income (FAGI) listed on Line 4 of their return.

Taxpayers may also call 801-297-2200 or 1-800-662-4335 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

They will need the following:

  • Taxpayer ID number
  • amount of the refund
  • current address.

Vermont - Will begin issuing refunds on February 6, 2017.

Virginia - Majority of refunds will be issued with no delays. Once a refund is approved, it may take 2 to 7 days for the direct deposit to occur.

West Virginia - No announced changes.

Wisconsin - No changes.

Was this helpful to you?