Search Help Topics:

This year, the IRS and state tax agencies are doing even more to protect you from fraud. Many agencies are changing their approval process in order to prevent those trying to steal your refund from succeeding. As a result, some refunds will be issued later than in past years. 

Refunds are not controlled by TaxAct, so you can still complete and file your return as usual. This will help you be at the head of the line once the issuing agency is ready to send refunds. 

These delays won't affect all taxpayers, so to help you determine when to expect your refund we've put together the following list:

Federal Refunds (IRS): 

Affected taxpayers: Those who claim the Earned Income Credit (EITC) or Additional Child Tax Credit (ACTC)

Refunds issued: Within 21 days of February 15, 2017

State Refunds:

Alabama - Will begin issuing refunds March 1, 2017. Refunds which the state deem suspicious will be redirected from direct deposit to paper check. 

Alaska- No announced changes.

Arizona - No changes. 

Arkansas - Identity Theft has been a growing problem nationally and the Department is taking additional measures to ensure tax refunds are issued to the correct individuals. These additional measures may result in tax refunds not being issued as quickly as in past years.

California - No changes. 

Colorado - No changes. 

Connecticut - No announced changes. 

Delaware - No announced changes. 

District of Columbia - No changes. 

Georgia - Will begin issuing refunds on February 1, 2017. 

No announced changes. 

Refunds issued within 7-8 weeks for e-filed returns, 10-11 weeks for paper-filed returns. 

No announced changes.

Indiana - Will issue refund once return has been processed and cleared through their Identity Protection Program. E-filers should receive refund within 14 days, paper-filers within 12 weeks. 

Iowa - Will begin issuing refunds for taxpayers who DO NOT claim the EITC as soon as February 1, 2017. Will begin issuing refunds for taxpayers who DO claim the EITC no sooner than February 21, 2017.

Kansas - No changes. 

Kentucky - Refunds will begin releasing refunds on February 15, 2017.

Louisiana - No longer allows direct deposit for first-time filers. 

Maine - No changes. 

Maryland - No announced changes. 

Massachusetts - No announced changes. 

Michigan - No changes. 

Minnesota - Refund issued once return is reviewed for accuracy. Property tax refunds issued July 1, Aug. 1, Aug. 15, and Sept. 15. 

No announced changes.

Missouri - No changes. 

Montana - No changes. 

Nebraska - No announced changes. 

New Hampshire - No announced changes. 

New Jersey - Will begin issuing refunds the third week of February, 2017. 

New Mexico - E-filed return processed and refund issued within two to four weeks. Paper-filed return processed and refund issued within eight to twelve weeks. 

New Jersey - No changes. 

New York - No changes. 

North Carolina
No announced changes.

North Dakota - No specific timeline for issuing refunds. To check the status of your refund, visit  

Ohio - No changes. 

Oklahoma - Once return is processed, refund is issued within five business days. 

Oregon - Will begin issuing refunds on February 15, 2017. 

Pennsylvania - No changes.  

Rhode Island - No announced changes.

South Carolina - No announced changes.

Tennessee - No announced changes.

Utah - If your W2 information does not match what your employer reported for you, your refund will not be sent until after March 1, 2017. Refunds may also be delayed if the authenticity of your return is questioned. 

Vermont - Will begin issuing refunds on February 6, 2017.

Virginia - Majority of refunds will be issued with no delays. Once a refund is approved, it may take 2 to 7 days for the direct deposit to occur. 

West Virginia - No announced changes.

Wisconsin - No changes.

Was this helpful to you?