If you are using Enterprise online (the "cloud" option), issues regarding missing information, missing returns, or error messages starting with "Unable to save..." may be caused by the mishandling of checked-out returns. It is possible that your returns may still be recovered. Please note that the following procedure is not guaranteed to restore all information.
If information in your return is missing, or if you are receiving a message starting with "Unable to save..." when saving a return:
If your entire return is missing from Client Manager:
To avoid this situation in the future, please only check in returns by right-clicking the return in the Client Manager and clicking Check In Return. If the return is checked out by another user on another computer, it must be checked in on that computer. Be absolutely certain you are checking in the returns on the same computer that was used to check out the returns.
Please be aware that the Checkout Manager will only clear a checkout status; it will not check a return back in by transferring the information in your offline file to the "cloud." If any information was entered while the return was checked out, and the return checkout status is cleared with the Checkout Manager rather than checking the return in, the information entered while the return was checked out will not be transferred, and the first instruction set above must be followed to recover the data.
Only use the Checkout Manager to clear the checkout status of a return if you no longer have access to the computer that was used to originally check out the return.