;
 

Search Help Topics:

If you are using Enterprise online (the "cloud" option), issues regarding missing information, missing returns, or error messages starting with "Unable to save..." may be caused by the mishandling of checked out returns. It is possible that your returns may still be recovered. Please note that the following procedure is not guaranteed to restore all information.

If information in your return is missing, or if you are receiving a message starting with "Unable to save..." when saving a return:

  1. Click the return in Client Manager to highlight it.
  2. Ensure that you are on the same computer that the return was originally checked out on. You may view the preparer that originally checked out the return by scrolling right, to the File Status column. The checked out return will say Checked out by: [Preparer Name].
  3. Scroll to the far right of the Client Manager.
  4. In the Filename column of Client Manager, take note of the numerical Client ID, labeled Online Storage - Client ID [number].
  5. Open a File Explorer window (Windows log key + E) and navigate to C:\TaxAct\TaxAct [year] Preparer's Edition\Client Data.
  6. Locate the checked out file with the same Client ID number located in step 4. The checked out file will contain the same name.
  7. Rename the file. Right-click the file and click Rename from the context menu. Use the primary taxpayer name in the filename to identify the file. Remove the ID number. Use something like: "John Doe [year] Individual tax return" or "John Doe's [year] 1040." Do not change or delete the file extension (e.g., .taX, where "X" is the last digit of the year).
  8. Return to the TaxAct program and go to File > Add Client Return > Open [year] Client On My Computer, select the newly named return file, and click Open.
  9. Save the file to the cloud and add the return to your Client Manager by selecting File > Save Client Return. This will create a new return in Client Manager with a new Client ID.

If your entire return is missing from Client Manager:

  1. Select File > Restore Deleted Clients.
  2. Check the box next to the client's name and click OK.
  3. Proceed from step 1 in the previous instruction set.

To avoid this situation in the future, please only check in returns by right-clicking the return in Client Manager and selecting Check In Return. If the return is checked out by another user on another computer, it must be checked in on that computer. Be absolutely certain you are checking in the returns on the same computer that was used to check out the returns.

Please be aware that the Checkout Manager will only clear a checkout status; it will not check a return back in by transferring the information in your offline file to the "cloud." If any information was entered while the return was checked out, and the return checkout status is cleared with the Checkout Manager rather than checking the return in, the information entered while the return was checked out will not be transferred, and the first instruction set above must be followed to recover the data.

Only use the Checkout Manager to clear the checkout status of a return if you no longer have access to the computer that was used to originally check out the return.


Was this helpful to you?