Search Help Topics:


Residents of all of the following are considered residents of New York City:

  • Bronx
  • Brooklyn
  • Manhattan
  • Queens
  • Staten Island

Per New York State Instructions for Form IT-201, on page 14:

New York State county of residence

Enter the county in New York State where you lived on December 31, 2019. If you live in New York City, use one of the following county names:

  If you live in use county
  Bronx Bronx
  Brooklyn Kings
  Manhattan New York
  Queens Queens
  Staten Island Richmond

If you select one of these counties and still click Did not live in the city on the state Q&A screen titled New York IT 201 - New York City Residency, then you will see a Red Alert during the Review. You will not be able to electronically file the return until this discrepancy is resolved.

Note that any link in the information above is updated each year automatically and will take you to the most recent version of the document at the time it is accessed.

Was this helpful to you?